Cell Phone Secrets

*This is a long post. If you can’t stomach to read the whole way through please at least scroll to the side note because I need some help.*

I got pissed off Saturday at my cell phone company. So pissed that I came very close to cancelling my contract. I’ve been with this company for many, many years and they pushed me to my breaking point Saturday. (It’s not the company that I work for.)

I renewed my daughter’s contract and got her a cool new phone for Christmas. Three days after she got her phone it started messing up. Not too bad, but when we were at the store talking to them about my phone she asked about it. One of the company reps was at the store and he just told the store to swap it out. Didn’t ask me, he just did it.

I had to go back to the store Saturday to pick up my phone. We were just going to exchange Dj’s phone because this one is worse then the first one. That’s two piece of shit phones in three weeks. The bitch behind the counter said absolutely not because we have already exchanged the phone once. I told her I didn’t ask for the first exchange and I won’t be saddled with a phone that my daughter in an emergency will have to take the battery out of her phone and restart it, then hope she gets the call made before it freezes again.

Her response? Well, we can send it off and see if there is a fix for it. There are no “known problems” with this phone so there won’t be a fix for it. If I let her send the phone off, then when it gets back and still doesn’t work, I am out of my 30 day return time and I am stuck with it. That ain’t gonna happen!

I called in to the company and the lady told me that I am well within my 30 days and I can return the phone and reverse my upgrade and we can ride out the contract with our old phone. I went back and stood in line at the store. The lady gets on the phone again and then turns to me and says “You only have 15 days to reverse your upgrade. The only thing we can do is send that one off.” I fucking blew a gasket because I know better! I just turned and ask her “So, the only way to get out from under this piece of shit phone is to cancel my contract?” She just looked at me. I turned to the other’s in line and told them, “if you want quality service come to {my company} we will do you right every time!”

I called the company back again. First I apologized for my tone of voice because my frustration level was high, then I told them my story. The lady that I talked to was wonderful. She told me that she fully agrees with me and that if I wanted they would call the store and make them switch my phone. I told her the last thing the lady at that store needed was for me to show back up still mad and asked if we could do it by mail. Dj’s new phone will be here tomorrow. Don’t ever tell me I can’t do something.

So, I decided I would let you in on a few secrets you may or may not know about some phone companies.

  1. Most companies understand how powerful word of mouth is. They will do just about anything to keep your business if you talk to them right.
  2. Most companies have independent retailers and company owned stores. If you call in and you get told to go to a store and you will get something free, go to a company store. Independent retailers are held under separate rules and most things are not free. Now, if an independent store sells you something like a sim card for your phone, you can call the parent company, tell them how much you paid for it and they will usually credit your bill with that amount. Under some circumstances this will also work with chargers.
  3. If you can not get to a company store then go to your independent store and nicely tell them your problem. There are some things that they can get away with that company stores can’t and a lot of times they are willing to work with you. I work for an independent store, if you come in here screaming at me and demanding something, I will always refer you to our closest company store; 87 miles away. If you speak to me like I am human, I will do everything I can to fix your problem. Sometimes that even includes giving you something for free.
  4. I’m not sure how many companies do this but I do know that more then just the one I work for does. Ask your provider if you get a discount because of where you work. Our company will give you anywhere from 5% to 20% discount on your service just because of the job you hold or retired from. That include a lot of fast food places and big corporations, city, state and federal employees too.
  5. You have 30 days to undo anything you have done. If you don’t like your new phone, you can exchange it. If you signed a new contract to get that new phone, you can reverse it.
  6. If you have a retired plan and it’s a good deal and you don’t want to lose it, don’t let them tell you that you have to change it. You don’t. You can keep it until the end of time.
  7. If you aren’t happy with how one operator handled your problem, thank them for their help and hang up. Call back and get a new operator. Tell the new one you just called and wasn’t sure if your problem was resolved after you thought about it. Everything gets put in your account notes, even your attitude. If you are overly hostile the next operator will treat you as such. Every one knows it is frustrating dealing with this stuff, so a simple acknowledgement that you know it isn’t that person’s fault goes a long way.

I think I should probably wrap this up now before it turns into a novel. I also think I have hit a lot of the high points for the most part. If you have any questions I will do my best to answer them.

*Side Note*

I am putting together a scrap book of sorts for Dj. It’s called Baby 101 Advice for a new mom. I am asking that every one throw in some piece of advice so I can fill this book up. It doesn’t matter if you have kids or not because every one has been around a kid and makes observations. Hell, we’ve all had parents in one form or another so we can give advice about how we wish our parents were. It can be funny or serious or a mix of both.

Published in: on January 5, 2009 at 3:53 pm  Comments (3)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://undomesticated.wordpress.com/2009/01/05/cell-phone-secrets/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

3 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. That was a super helpful post. I don’t think anyone likes dealing with cell phone companies, although I have only had one problem with mine and it was fairly minor. What I noticed is that the deals they offer you on the internet (free shipping on a phone upgrade) are NOT the same deal they offer over the phone and they nearly refused to honor the internet deal even if their website was jacking up so you can’t order from there. Grrr!

    Baby Advice… let me think about that and I’ll email you.

  2. I don’t think you want me to write what I wished my mom did differently. It’d fill up the whole book. No joke.

    Glad to hear the tea causes the heartburn, at least now I know what is causing it and can deal accordingly – like by taking rolaids. Cuz I ain’t givin up tea. ha ha ha

  3. DJ,
    Even though you don’t know me, all mothers understand each other. This is going to sound awful, but there will come a day that you totally understand child abuse. You won’t do anything to abuse your child. You will just understand it.
    Sleep well the last night before the baby is born. It is the last night that you will spend without wondering if the light of your life is OK. No matter how old your child is, you will always worry about them. You’ll understand your mother better. You’ll experience the greatest love that there is on Earth. Enjoy every minute of it. It passes too quickly.
    Lynn Weeks (AKA: Been There, Done That)


Leave a Reply

