Mom Moments

Dj wasn’t feeling good last night. She came and crawled into bed with me because she just needed a hug and for me to make it all go away. After she got up and went back to her own bed I couldn’t go back to sleep.

It kind of hit me that my kids don’t really need me much anymore. They are almost grown and times of them needing me to kiss the boo boo to make it go away are getting few and far between. I miss the days when they were little and just wanted to cuddle. They still come and plop down in the chair with me from time to time but it’s just really not the same as what it used to be. Most of the time it’s because they have an ulterior motive.

I guess I’m just having a hard time reconciling the fact that my babies are almost adults who soon won’t need me for all the little things anymore.

I just don’t like it at all!

Published in: on December 18, 2008 at 5:48 pm  Comments (2)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://undomesticated.wordpress.com/2008/12/18/mom-moments/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. We always need our mothers, I think. Just in different ways.

    I wish I could say I understand your feeling of loss due to the changes, but since I don’t have kids, I don’t think I do.

    Sorry you are having a tough time, my friend.

  2. Thanks for thinking of me today. I have been quiet everywhere. I guess this, too will pass.
    I’ve got to tell you that I actually like it better when my grown son needs me. When they are little they sorta have to need you. Now that he is married with a son of his own, I love it when he still wants me for advice, when he’s sick, etc. It only gets better.


Leave a Reply

