Not Another Chuck Entry

I promise this will be the last entry about Chuck for at least a couple days. But, I wanted to tell about the appointment yesterday, I just didn’t have time to write about it.

The baby’s dad, Bradley, has only been to a couple appointments; the first one and the one yesterday. He doesn’t own a vehicle and he can’t usually find a ride. We live about 45 minutes from the doctor’s office so the extra 15 or so minutes out of the way to go get him doesn’t appeal to me so I won’t go get him. I made an exception yesterday because it was a big appointment and I felt he needed to be there.

The morning started out nice then Dj and Bradley got into an argument. I was very proud of myself for keeping my nose out of it and I was also very proud of Dj for finally standing up for herself. She laid down the law. She told him if he doesn’t straighten up soon he will be out of her life. She told him “I have to think about my baby now.” I wanted to cry I was so proud.

Anyway, we got into the ultrasound room and the doc came in and jellied her up and got to work. Chuck was looking right at us. She opened her mouth a couple times and moved her little hand around. It came time to move from her head to her nether regions. I made the comment that I call the baby Chuck. The nurse and the doc both laughed about it.

The doctor stopped along the way to take a measurement and the nurse jumped up and ran toward the monitor saying “You better get used to saying Chuckette!” The doc was busy with his measurements and didn’t quite catch the view.

As he moved the sensor thingy around towards the bottom Chuck moved her butt up under Dj’s ribs. After 45 minutes of trying we never got another clear view.

The doc moved on to doing something with the cord, which was laying over top of Chuck’s hand. As he would stop to take the readings he needed, Chuck would move her hand and push the cord away. He would stop what he was doing and go back and recapture the cord and Chuck moved it again. I swear I saw that baby giggling!

When he got Chuck’s focus on the cord he went back to her butt. She pulled her legs up under her and ran her butt back up under Dj’s ribs. I’m really going to have fun with this baby when she is born!

The doc finally gave up on getting a clear shot and said that it was a safe bet that it was a girl but he wouldn’t say definitively since he only caught a glimpse.

I really didn’t mind either way if it was a boy or girl but the kids wanted a girl very badly and I couldn’t help but be very excited for them.

The only concern was they found Dj is RH Negative. It’s not a big concern but she will have to get a shot on her next visit and that freaks her out. Otherwise, the baby is healthy and strong and growing as she should be.

Published in: on November 26, 2008 at 3:45 pm  Comments (1)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://undomesticated.wordpress.com/2008/11/26/not-another-chuck-entry/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. Awwww…girl babies are the best. Don’t tell my grandson that I said that! Just think of all of the cute things that you can crochet for her. I think that Chuck is a perfectly fine name for a girl; except when they sing that “Name Game” song. Chuck, Chuck, bo-buck, Banana-fana fo _______!


Leave a Reply

