Friendship

I have been close friends with Billie for 20 years. She’s the kind of friend that you never have to doubt her intentions. You always know she has your back no matter what time of the day or the circumstances. Apparently this relationship her and I have intimidates a lot of people for some reason. Mostly men.

When I first moved to Oklahoma I started dating this guy. He was divorced. Billie was his ex wife. For some reason he felt it was necessary to make her and I fight at every twist and turn. He would tell her that I said one thing then turn around and tell me the same thing but she said it about me. Him and I broke up after about six months.

Several months later I started dating my ex husband. Lo and behold, Billie was his niece. I was leery of her for a long time and pretty much just stayed away if she was around. Then one day I was drunk and hungry and had no way to cook the spaghetti o’s I was desperately wanting to eat. I went to my ex’s sister’s house to cook them and Billie was there. I was drunk, and hungry and just really didn’t care if she kicked my ass.

Her and I started talking and realized that we actually liked each other. We have pretty much been inseparable since then, though many have tried to separate us.

There have been many times I have called her at 3 am crying over one thing or another. She has never gotten mad about it or upset, she would just talk me off the ceiling. When I got my divorce she would call me every morning because she knew my anxiety level was highest in the mornings. I hated waking up alone.

When I married Jeff he accepted the fact that her and I are a package deal. He knew without asking that he was marrying both of us for better or for worse. He was also taking on my kids and hers.

Several months ago Billie got married to Mike. Mike was awesome at first. Then he became a bit controlling. Then he just went full blown with it telling her she needed to diet, or she needed to get the gap fixed in her teeth. Once he set her up with a full spa day. He couldn’t just leave it as a nice gift he had to tell her the reason he did it was because her feet needed attention because they creeped him out.

Last month she finally decided enough was enough. She kicked him out. While he was packing he grabbed her arm so forcefully it left a bruises. (I have pictures.) When he shoved her out of the way she fell and hit the dresser. After he left the real trouble began. He would call her constantly calling her a bitch with white trash ways one time then the next telling her that he is the only one that has ever loved her this much.

Bill finally changed her phone number. Somehow he got her new number. We think we have it figured out how but when he got it he started implying that I was the one that gave him the number. He also said that her closest friends weren’t really friends at all. Mostly her and I just laughed about it. Eventually he started saying he had proof but wouldn’t tell her or show her because he didn’t want to hurt her that bad.

He started texting me one day and I started working on him to tell her. He messed up because he sent me a text that said WE know it wasn’t you that told me. I knew he was trying to make it out to be me. WE know but SHE didn’t. Big mess up. Yes SHE knows I didn’t do it. She knows I wouldn’t never do anything to harm her or her children.

Then the day came that he named me by name. He also showed her son a text that I supposedly wrote. Fortunately her son knows I would never hurt them. I started blasting him with text messages trying to make him cop to it but he just ignores them. He told Bill yesterday that he has my phone number blocked. He lied again because I called his phone and I wasn’t blocked.

I’m really not sure just what he hopes to accomplish. Even if he were to succeed in turning us against each other it doesn’t change the fact that she won’t allow him back into her life. I guess he figures if he can’t have her I can’t either.

But I got news for the fat ass fucker, the only people that can tear her and I apart are the two of us. NO ONE will ever break down what we have fought hard to build up.

Published in: on September 19, 2008 at 5:07 pm  Comments (2)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://undomesticated.wordpress.com/2008/09/19/friendship/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Girlfriends are forever. The older that I get, the more that I realize this!

  2. Please be VERY careful with this a-hole! Situations like this escalate, quite frequently until someone gets hurt and i would hate to see anything happen to you or your friend.
    I am so glad she got away from him before the abuse got too bad. You are an awesome friend for helping her through this.
    Don’t play his games, sounds like he is trying to draw you both into playing his sick twisted game, trying to find an excuse to hurt Bill.
    Please just be careful, and document or save EVERYTHING, every text message, phone message, whatever.
    Good luck to you, and peace and safety to your friend.


Leave a Reply

