Worst.Mom.Ever!

This time 14 years ago I was laying in a hospital bed trying to get some rest. I had been up all night trying to give birth to my son.

At that time I still had no idea what my son looked like or what it felt like to hold him in my arms. He was a month early and the nurses swooped him out of the delivery room before I could hold him.

In thirty minutes it will be exactly 14 years ago that I was woke up by a nurse placing him in my arms for the first time.

Thirty minutes after that his 3 year old sister bounded into the room, jumped up on the bed and declared the baby to be all hers.

Most days now, she would love to just put him back but she still mothers him.

There was a lot of talk and hype around the house last night about the big birthday today.

I got up this morning, woke the kids up and sent them off to school. Thirty minutes later as Dj was talking to Dylan’s bus driver about where he needs to get off the bus today, she called me.

She called to inform me that we forgot to tell Dylan Happy Birthday this morning.

Please don’t everyone rush to vote for me for mother of the year. It’s really an honor just to be nominated.

*As a small side note: Dylan bought that duck float for the neighbors two small boys. He wrapped around his waist and I grabbed the camera. He started pulling his shirt down and I asked him what he was doing. His answer “I’m fixing my shirt. I don’t want to look like a dork!”

Published in: on September 15, 2008 at 2:37 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://undomesticated.wordpress.com/2008/09/15/worstmomever/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

