Wife Swap

I have a friend that is going through a divorce. It looks like it might get nasty. Her soon to be ex was a sweetheart of a guy when they first married then turned into a very controlling kind of man that even told her he didn’t like her son.

He has text me on several occasions to get advice about how to handle things with her. It’s usually a waste of time for me because he doesn’t want to hear what I have to say. He locks on to one or two things anyone says and then twists them and uses those things against her. Anytime he talks to me she knows it. I do not hide things from her or her from me. That is how we have remained so close for over 20 years. He knows that if she asks me about the things him and I talk about I will tell her.

Anyway, the past few days have been really rough for her because he just will not stop trying to bully her into working the marriage out. Honestly, how can you work out a marriage when your husband matter of fact tells you he can’t stand your kid? As much as I love Jeff, if he were to out right tell me something like that he would be gone. Her husband doesn’t understand why she chose to take her son’s side in this and not his.

It has been really hard for me to keep my mouth shut when he talks to me. I get a few digs in on him but I try to stay level headed and nice for her sake. I don’t want to give him any more ammunition against her. Jeff and her brother are chomping at the bit to give the man a little hill country justice.

Last night Jeff and I were watching Wife Swap. He looked over at me and said we won’t be doing anything like that so don’t even think about it. He further stated that there was only one couple that he would consider swapping with.

His exact words: “We’ll let that fat bastard have a dose of you for awhile!”

I’m not quite sure how to take that.

Published in: on August 21, 2008 at 2:43 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://undomesticated.wordpress.com/2008/08/21/wife-swap/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

