I Would Have Been A Failure

Last week Miss Britt announced that she would quit smoking starting today. I have decided that this will be my year to quit smoking as well so I asked if I could join the non smoking revolution. I know I need to take this ride with someone else in order for me to be held accountable for my actions. I told my family this weekend that I would quit today. I started building myself up for it and even started to look forward to it last night.

Then I woke up this morning.

When Dj woke me up I was right in the middle of a dream about smoking. I have never had one of those before that I can recall. I went and started the coffee and started on my search for where I put my cigarettes. Then I remembered that today I quit.

Reality hit me smack in the face when it occurred to me that today was not a good day for me to embark on this journey. Monday mornings I come face to face with all my triggers. I don’t have to be at work until 1:00 and I am left all by myself with no support system.

I let myself off the hook for this morning because I knew I would fail at no smoking today. Once I mark myself as a failure at it, I will just give in and smoke more and more.

Today wasn’t my day to quit, but tomorrow is a new day with plenty of distractions and fewer triggers. Tomorrow I will do my best to make myself a non smoker.

Published in: on August 18, 2008 at 7:27 pm  Comments (3)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://undomesticated.wordpress.com/2008/08/18/i-would-have-been-a-failure/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

3 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I’m going to have to use another ‘trigger’ if you don’t quit coming up with excuses. What am I talking about? I’m fat! I can’t quit eating! Best of luck is coming your way!

  2. I have smoked for almost 30 years. i started when I was 11 years old.
    Over the years I have tried every stop smoking thing on the market with no success.
    Until NOW.
    I have not had a cigarette since July 6!
    If you want to know my secret to quitting…. go here: http://newlonestargal.blogspot.com/2008/07/on-quitting-smoking.html
    That stuff worked like a charm!
    You get the nicotine your body craves, without the smoking. Then, you can, after you get past the needing something to do with your hands, can wean yourself off the nicotine at your own pace!
    Worked great.
    I have not even gained any weight!

  3. I quit smoking once, after about a year of smoking. It was rough.

    But I had no choice – asthma.

    Good luck.


Leave a Reply

