Why I Live 1,318 Miles From Family

I got the call from my aunt yesterday that my great-aunt passed away. There was never any love lost between the two of us so it didn’t really rock my world. However, it kills me to know my 80 year old grandmother is that far away and grieving the lose of her sister.

My grandparents divorced a year or so before I was born. My grandma never remarried and never learned to drive. She supported herself financially but was dependant on the rest of her family for rides to work and appointments. Her immediate family consisted of her mother, sister, three daughters, and three grandchildren. Now she has two daughters, three grandchildren and several great grandchildren. Know how many of us called to check on her yesterday? TWO! Me and my aunt. My aunt lives almost as far away from her as I do.

My brother is out of town right now so he can’t go see her but he could call her. He hasn’t and he probably won’t. He is mad at her for some reason.

My other aunt is straight out bitch! My grandma is the only person in our family who will even talk to her. When my great grandfather (who practically raised 5 out of 6 of his grandchildren) passed away, she said she wouldn’t attend his funeral because she had some shopping planned for that day. She followed that up by saying “It doesn’t bother me because he was old. If it had been one of my dogs I would be devastated.” She had something equally snarky to say when my mom died. But, nobody will tell me exactly what she said.

Anyway, my point being, my grandmother was very dependant on her sister. All of my life they have talked on the phone every day at 9:00 am and several times through out the day. They got together 2 or 3 times a week to do things. None of the family that actually live near here are even remotely trying to be there for her.

I would love to beat some damn sense into my family. I don’t want to spend the rest of my life in jail so that is why I live 1,318 miles from my family.

Published in: on July 19, 2008 at 3:49 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://undomesticated.wordpress.com/2008/07/19/why-i-live-1318-miles-from-family/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

