Lesson Learned

This is it.
I have learned my lesson.
I will no longer say things like “Nothing can mess this day up for me.” or “Today just can’t get any worse.”
On April 22, 2002 my ex husband and I got the word early in the day that our first home loan had been approved. I was on cloud 9. I told everyone that would listen about it and said repeatedly “Nothing can mess this day up for me.” I got home and called my mom at 5:45 pm. Her husband answered the phone and promptly told me my mom was dead.
Yesterday was a bad day at work to the point that I am questioning my need to continue working here. Someone came in with a problem and said “I’m about to give you a big headache.” I just told her “Today just can’t get any worse.” I handled her relatively easy problem and sent her on her way.
My daughter had a doctors appointment and as the lady was leaving she was pulling up.
She was crying.
My heart sank.
My daughter is pregnant.
After the initial shock wore off I went into mom mode trying to console her. We spent all night discussing her options. She is adamant that abortion is out of the question. She don’t know if she can handle adoption. (Dj was born to be a mom. Kids are naturally drawn to her and her to them. I just thought it would be later in life that she would become a mom.)
We made the phone call to her dad to tell him. He reacted just as we thought he would. He hit the rough. He’s not mad at her but is mad at the father. There is talk of death. I spent an hour or two talking him and his wife off the ceiling and hopefully they will now safely stay out of jail. It pisses me off that I had to spend so much time consoling them that I didn’t have time to have my own nervous breakdown.
And then I remembered it’s not about me. It’s not about them. It’s about her and what’s best for her and this baby. I just hope everyone else remembers that and starts to put the focus where it needs to be.

Published in: on July 3, 2008 at 5:48 pm  Comments (6)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://undomesticated.wordpress.com/2008/07/03/lesson-learned/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

6 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Good luck, and good for you for loving your daughter unconditionally.

  2. Thank you! I don’t know how to love her any other way.

  3. I have been on vacation and have missed your blog. Your daughter is so lucky to have you for a mother. I’ve always believed that Babies Happen, and that the young mothers don’t need the family drama that usually comes along with the news.

  4. I can’t undo it so there is no sense in freaking out about it. I do plan on having a nervous breakdown soon though.

  5. Your daughter is one lucky girl to have you as her mom. My mother freaked out when she found out the first time I had sex at age 18! She would have completely flipped if I had gotten pregnant.
    Just keep doing what your doing… just loving her.
    you are awesome… I wish you and your family the very best during the difficult times to come.

  6. Thank you


Leave a Reply

