Weekend Recap

This was a good weekend! Saturday morning I was up at 5:30 to send my husband off to work. I sat around for about 15 minutes and decided to start some laundry. I went down to Rob’s to do the laundry and checked my email and such. Finally got up to the house and tried to crochet but I wasn’t in the mood for it. Oddly enough, I couldn’t fight the urge to clean my house. I spent most of the day just cleaning. When Jeff got home we just hung out and watched movies until bedtime.
Sometime during the day Saturday I let my husband talk me into going to work with him yesterday. They were heading out to another’s guys place to help him find some missing cattle. We left the house at 5:00AM. By 6:30 we were on our way to the place we were looking for cattle. I had my crochet with me because I normally just sit in the truck and crochet while they do their thing if it involves the horses.
Jeff was getting things ready to head out and asked me to hold his horse. He just looked at me and said “I’ll get a bit for that Bay over there if you want to ride.” It sounded like a challenge to me so I said “Ok!” Well, he did it. There was no turning back. I got on the horse and sat there for a little while trying to get the feel of it and get over the case of nerves I had just acquired.
It came time to head out and I followed the guys out. I figured if nothing else I would just hang back and follow them around. I couldn’t resist the urge to say “Umm I guess maybe I should have used the bathroom before we left.” There was a collective groan from the men in front of me. I laughed so hard I almost fell off the horse first rattle out of the box.
After we had been riding for about 5 minutes or so my husband turns to me and starts explaining the best way for me to sit when going down a hill or up another one. I said “So, what hill are we talking about?” He points directly to his left to a steep hill that has a creek at the bottom and a steep hill on the other side. I almost freak and almost turn back. He started talking me thru it and another guy rode up behind me and said “Hold on!” and he popped the horse on the butt and across the creek and up the hill we went. After that I got more comfortable and was able to cross back over with no nerves and no help.
By the end of the day I was brave enough to help them herd some cattle into place so they could be counted. The guys were very good with me and never got out of sorts with me if I screwed up. Thru it all I was very overwhelmed with how my husband kept one eye on his work and one eye on me. Giving me steady instructions and constantly putting me at ease with the horse and what I was doing. Seeing him watching me made me glad I took it as a challenge. It was awesome to see the love and pride in his eyes and knowing it was directed right at me. And well, he knew if I got hurt he would never live it down!

Published in: on June 11, 2007 at 4:23 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://undomesticated.wordpress.com/2007/06/11/weekend-recap/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

