Just Stuff

I read a couple celebrity blogs. Well more to the point I read the comments on a couple celebrity blogs. They are always a source of amusement for me. I have to say that I really just don’t get hero worship. Rarely do you see someone make a comment about what was actually posted that day. Normally it’s the “I love you *insert name*!”. The ones that really get me are the ones that comment saying “I’m dying of so and so disease.” Do they think an acknowledgement from the celebrity will somehow save their life? Then there are the people that beg for money. On one hand I have to give them props for having the balls to ask a total stranger for money. On the other it pisses me off and I just wish one time the celeb would say get a freakin job!
Yesterday I was answering the phones at work. One of our drivers is from New York. When he talks it sounds like what in my mind a gangster sounds like. (I’m talking old school gangster.) To me he is one of those manly men. His wife has cancer. She is one of the sweetest women you would ever want to know. Yesterday when he called me he was telling about her latest doctors visit. He almost had me in tears. Not necessarily about her diagnosis but how he sounded when he was talking to me about her. The tenderness I heard in his voice was unsettling to me. I’m not sure why.
I did finally find a charity that I liked and joined it. I started crocheting a baby blanket the other night. Jeff asked me what I was doing. I told him making a baby blanket. He walked into the kitchen to find some food and a few minutes later he came back. He sat there for a few more minutes and got up and went to the bathroom. He came back in and as he walked back by me he said “And ummm just who is the lucky couple?” Think all the recent baby related talk has got him paranoid much?

Published in: on June 5, 2007 at 4:49 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://undomesticated.wordpress.com/2007/06/05/just-stuff/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

