Pride

When I was 4 my mom married a man that was in the Army. We lived at Ft. Rucker in Alabama. I loved driving on base in the evenings. I loved how busy it was and all of a sudden everything stopped because they were lowering the flag. I remember sitting in the backseat of the car watching as the man got out of the car and saluted. I remember having this feeling at the time that I couldn’t identify. I now know that it was pride.
Our great grandparents started instilling in us pride for our country when we were very young. Although I never really understood the full importance of the flag until the man came into our lives. I don’t really remember a whole lot about that time in my life but I do remember his friends coming to our house and I remember them sharing stories with us about their lives. I remember the pride on their faces when my brother and I realized the importance of the stories they were telling us. I remember feeling like we were a part of a huge family with many aunts and uncles there for us at all times.
If I were to see any of them today I wouldn’t know them. Their faces are fuzzy in my memory but I remember those uniforms and knowing that when I saw someone in it I was safe. I am thankful for everyone of them that came into my life. They helped to shape me into the person that I am today.
Published in: on November 7, 2006 at 7:44 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://undomesticated.wordpress.com/2006/11/07/pride/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

