Home

Last night I went to a birthday party of sorts for Billie. I’m not sure how to explain this but I will try. I walked in and it felt like home. The party was at a house of some people that I had only met once. I met them out at the bar and we really didn’t talk. But there was a still a feeling of home when I walked into their house.
There was a couple there that I used to work with and consider friends. I said hi to them and to everyone else. Billie started introducing the other people that I didn’t know. There was a lady sitting at the bar that I recognized but couldn’t quite place. She agreed she knew my face but wasn’t sure how. After sitting down and thinking about it awhile I think it hit us both at the same time. Her and her husband/boyfriend (not sure which) were friends of my parents when we first moved to Oklahoma.
My parents moved out here before I did because my dad had to work and I had to stay in Alabama and finish the school year. Once I moved out here my parent’s friends accepted me as one of their own and treated me as such. If I was in trouble I heard about it from all of them as well as they all celebrated my accomplishments with me. This was a time in my life when I can say I was truly happy. There was a man in my life that really wanted to be a dad to me and not only took me in because I was a part of my mom but because he wanted me as a daughter. I had a family and an extended family that loved me for me.
So, I don’t know if it was the fact that the owners of the house really are welcoming people or if just being in the presence of these two other people were the reason for my feeling at home. I just know that being there with them brought back a flood of good memories and it felt great to be accepted right back in. I was invited to come back to their jam sessions anytime so they better watch out because I will be taking them up on it…if for no other reason then to feel like I am at home again.
Published in: on October 5, 2006 at 5:50 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://undomesticated.wordpress.com/2006/10/05/home/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

